Sightseeing in Kefalonia


The islands paradise on earth. It is the most beautiful beach of all with a limpid deep blue sea, white sand and small white pebbles. Myrtos’ beauty is also vied by other beautiful beaches on the island, such as Makris and Platis Yalos (long, and wide beach), Spartia, Lourdas, Scala, Poros, Andisamos, Xi, Petani etc.

The Assos Citadel

Is a real ornament dominating the whole area from the hilltop of the Asos Peninsula, built by the Venetians to protect the inhabitants against raids launched by pirates and by the Turks in 1593.


Is one of the rarest phenomena: large quantities of seawater penetrate the land at the location of Agii Theodori at Lassi without retrogressing, re-appearing by the village of Karavomilos near Sami.

The Abbey of Kipouria

Is built in a landscape of unique beauty, offering the most wonderful sunset. Numerous post-Byzantine icons and valuable heirlooms havebeen preserved there. The Abbey of Agia Paraskevi Taphion and the Dracospilia (Dragon’s) Cave are also situated very close to it.

The Xi Beach

It is one of the most beautiful beaches at Paliki, with fine, red sand and clear, limpid shallow waters, terminating in clay rocks. Also, situated nearby, the famous Kounopetra, a rock in the sea swinging rhythmically with palpitating movements, one of the most paradoxical phenomena on the island.


Do visit the Koryalenios Library, which is one of the largest libraries in Greece with 53,000 volumes, housed in the same building as the Historic and Folklore Museum, which proudly displays innumerable elements of a four-century long period. The Folklore Museum is also situated nearby, with exhibits from the first indication of life on the iisland and, mainly, from the Mycenean Period.


The Tombs at Mazaracata

Their discovery implies the existence of a remarkable settlement dating back to the Mycenean era, while the findings, jewels etc. confirm the evidence of the peak of Mycenaean civilization


The Abbey of Saint Andrew

Dates back to the Byzantine period, with sublime frescos and an ecclesiastic museum, where, additionally, the saint’s right leg is kept. The abbey was initially dedicated to the Panagia (Virgin Mary) of Milapidia.



Is a beautiful traditional village resembling a painting, with many yachts anchored in its picturesque port giving it a cosmopolitan style.


The Agrilia Monastery

Is situated up on a hill top near Sami, surrounded by wild oil-trees and offering a wonderful view of the Bay of Sami and Ithaca. It is the place where Cosmas the Aetolian taught.



It is a wonderful underground lake with sublime stalactites, where some kind of worship of God Pan took place in historical times. When illuminated by the sun’s rays, sublime colours are reflected on the lake water.



Is the most impressive cave of all, presenting rare stalactites, stalagmites with excellent acoustics. Concerts are also given in this grand natural hall.


The Echinades Islands

Is a small evergreen paradise of islands situated near continental Greece, visited by many yachts.


Aenos Mountain

Is the mountain with a distinct dark green fir tree species on its slopes, called by the Venetians «Monte Nero» (black mountain) which had played a very significant role in the context of the island’s development.


The Abbey of Atros

Is the oldest abbey on the island, dedicated to the Virgin Mary’s birth  with a remarkable mediaeval tetragonal tower, from where the view is of unique beauty.


The Tomb at Tzanata

The excavations carried out here brought to light a sublime large domed tomb with many burials. The main grave contained the remains of a person assigned with a high office. The tomb dating to  1350 B.C. as well as findings of high value, jewels, engraved seal stones etc., bear out the existence of a strong Mycaenean centre.


The Scala Mosaics

Scala is the southernmost village in Kefalonia, where the excavations carried out brought to light ruins of a Roman villa with well-preserved wonderful mosaics and epigrams dating back to 2nd Century BC.


The Citadel of Saint George

The Venetian citadel of Saint George of a polygonal shape with three battlements was the island’s first capital from 1500 to 1757, when Argostoli became the capital of the island.


The Abbey of Saint Gerasimos

Is the place where Saint Gerasimos, the island’s protector, lived as a monk, and his corpse is exposed to pilgrimage. All the Kefalonians gather there on August 16th and October 20th to celebrate their Saint.

Casa de Blue Team
Lourdata – Kefalonia
Tel.: +30 6976936837

Copyright ©2019 •
Designed by